About Us


In the beginning there were three Biology Departments- The Department of Botany, which was established in 1961, The Department of Zoology, which was established in 1961 and The Department of Entomology which was established in 1970.

The Department of Entomology was later merged with the Department of Zoology in 1978.

In 2006, the Departments of Botany and Zoology were merged to form the SCHOOL OF BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES.

The department is structured into the following nine thematic areas each with a thematic head: Ethno-biology and Taxonomy; Biological Natural Products; Ecology and Environmental Sciences; Fresh Water and Marine; Genetics and Biotechnology; Insect Science; Microbiology; Physiology and Biochemistry, and Parasitology and Immunology

The Department of Biology trains personnel in the biological field so as to meet the job market in both the academic and industrial spheres, and to conduct research in basic and applied biological fields.

Courses are offered at undergraduate and postgraduate levels in nine thematic areas.

The Department of Biology has been prolific, with the number of Undergraduate and Postgraduate students increasing 50-fold over the last 50 years.

Our top luminaries include Prof. Thomas Odhiambo, who while teaching in Zoology in 1970 founded International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology (ICIPE), an institution which transformed Insect Science and its application globally.

It is noteworthy that Hon. Dr. William Ruto, the Deputy President of the Republic of Kenya is a department alumnus. 

The Department produces top managers who man Kenya’s universities, research Institutions and industry.

Department of Biology alumni serve in senior positions in Kenyan universities as Vice Chancellors, Deputy Vice Chancellors, Principals, Directors and Heads of Departments.